United Kingdom, York

Day Trip to York

2 May 2015

I think York has to be one of the most interesting cities I’ve visited so far! I really liked how there were so many museums to visit, and how the city was so compact, everything could be easily covered via foot.

I only had about 6 hours to explore the city, but I think you could easily spend 2 days in York if you wish! The actual bus journey from Manchester to York was only 2 hours! However, I had to change buses at Leeds, and wait in between for an hour that’s why buses take longer than trains – but I didn’t have a choice because the buses were so much cheaper than the trains!

I felt very accomplished, considering I only had half a day because I visited the National Railway Museum (free!), walked along the city walls, visited the Museum Gardens, York Minster, had lunch at Betty’s Tea Rooms, walked through the Shambles district and visited the York Castle Museum! Not too bad for half a day innit.

Of course I would have loved to spend longer at each museum, and spend more time at the exhibits. Unfortunately, I had to rush through them due to limited time. I would have also liked to visit the Yorkshire Museum (they have a Richard III man or myth exhibition!!) and the Jorvik museum about vikings.

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

I liked the National Railway Museum for it’s vintage feel, it’s as though you stepped back in time. And even though I’m not a train fanatic, it was interesting to read about all the different trains! Not only do they have royal carriages, and old British trains, but they have the Japanese bullet train as well as other locomotives and steam engines. And it’s super accessible as it’s near the Railway Station itself!

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

I thought that the York Minster was really unique and special because it’s just not any ordinary church. It felt more like a museum than a church. Of course, this came with a high entry fee of 10 pounds (9 pounds for students). If you wanted to go up to the tower, it would have been 14 quid. However, not only do you get to see the cathedral, you get to visit the undercroft (which is this huge big underground interactive museum essentially, that explains the history of the York Minster!), as well as learn about stained glass and sculpturing. There’s also an orb showcasing medieval art. So I thought that you got to see a lot of things just by visiting the York Minster! They have really informative write-ups about each section, so I really liked that. It was different from the other churches that I visited.

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

This was Sarah’s recommendation! Afternoon tea is such a quintessential English thing, I had to do it. What’s more, I love scones, clotted cream and jam, so it was pretty good, albeit pricey. My set was like 11 quid, which is like 22 sgd for 2 scones and a cup of tea ha ha ha. The whole ambience of the place was really quaint and fancy though!!

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

These were taken at the York Castle Museum! I really liked this museum, because it isn’t as much of history as it is of day-to-day Victorian living. I think the York Museums are really wonderfully done and I would recommend it (5 quid for students, 6 quids for both York Castle and Yorkshire Museum). They talk of the common social history, and they decorated the museum to be just like how it was like in the olden days, so it was more of an immersive experience rather than picture-writeup picture-writeup. Sometimes, I could imagine how Tess of the D’urbervilles was living like in those days, so it was really cool! Alas, I couldn’t spend much time here because I had to rush back to catch my bus but I think i could have easily spent 2-3 hours here if I wanted!

They have different sections, like the Victorian living room, how births and death are regarded, dressing of the Victorian age, what jobs were common in that period, so I thought it was really interesting.

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

Also, as I was scrolling through Instagram, I realized that Amos was in Manchester as well, and we decided to meet up for an impromptu dinner at this Indian place called Mylahore, where they served really good Indian food. I think i’m having too much asian food deprivation. The portions were way too big for us though, and we couldn’t finish, so I would suggest sharing. But I always love serendipitous moments like this, and we had really good conversations and dinner so yay for social media.

You can tell that I really love York from my pictures, and I think that everyone should seriously consider a day trip there! Such a lovely place 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

